Farry & Stock, P.C. colorado Springs Criminal and civil trial Attorneys
Schedule a Consultation
800-683-6587
Main Menu
Practice Areas

Drunk driving in Colorado can lead to significant penalties

Last week's post delved into the issue of what to expect if you are pulled over on suspicion of drunk driving. Today we will examine the penalties one could face if one is convicted of driving under the influence.

If it is the first time you have received a conviction of a DUI offense in Colorado, you could experience significant consequences. For example, a class II misdemeanor on your criminal record could follow you for the rest of your life. In addition, your driver's license could be lost, or you could be required to have an ignition interlock device placed on your vehicle for two years. Moreover, you could face a prison term of five days to as much as 12 months for a DWI first offense. You could be placed on probation. Also, you could be required to attend an alcohol education program for as many as nine months. Finally, you may be ordered to performed community service for two to four days.

If you are convicted of vehicular homicide, the consequences are even more severe. Vehicular homicide - in which a person is killed - is a class III felony. It could result in a prison sentence of four to 12 years. Vehicular assault - in which a person is seriously injured - is a class IV felony. It could result in a prison sentence of two to six years.

As you can see, being accused of a drunk driving crime can seriously impact your future. That being said, there may be defenses in your favor should you be facing such charges. With the right help, you may be able to prepare a solid defense to counter such charges.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Back to top